Better than Narnia Banana Bread

Oh by George. Being a nutritionista, I can’t believe I’ve gone this long without posting a delicious recipe! My apologies. 

I came home last week and was craving something tasty. I found myself staring in the freezer as if it had turned into Narnia and something mystical was about to happen. Instead, something better happened…I came across 6 brown frozen bananas. SCORE! The rest is history.

Better than Narnia Banana Bread

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Grease a medium-sized loaf pan or a preferred pan and set aside.

1 cup bananas, mashed
2 organic eggs
1/2 cup maple syrup
1/4 cup ghee, melted (can substitute with organic butter or coconut oil)
1 tsp. vanilla
1/4 cup apple sauce

Mix the above ingredients in a large bowl and set aside.

1 cup brown rice flour
1/4 cup buckwheat flour
1 tsp. cinnamon
1 tsp. nutmeg
1/4 cup shredded coconut (optional)
1 tsp. aluminum-free

Mix the above ingredients in a separate bowl. Combine both dry and wet ingredients and mix well. Pour mixture into pan and bake for 20 minutes or until cooked through. (I took it out juuuust slightly before and it finished while cooling)

OPTIONAL:
1/4 cup chocolate chips (I use carob)
1/4 cup cacao nibs

PS – I am WELL aware that I am NOT a photographer! The wonders of a cell phone camera without flash! 🙂

Leave a Reply

